Homepage » FiBL Switzerland » Research » Crop Sciences » Functional biodiversity


Henryk Luka

Henryk Luka
(Dr. phil, Ing. agr.)

Department of Crop Sciences
Ackerstrasse 113
CH-5070 Frick

Phone +41 (0)62 865-7244
Fax +41 (0)62 865-7273

Functional biodiversity

Beneficial insects instead of pesticides against pests in vegetable cultivation

Our aim is to increase functional biodiversity, i.e. to use wild flowers to attract parasitoids into the cabbage field - or to retain them if we release them - to increase natural pest control. By strengthening biological control we can reduce or even eliminate the use of pesticides. Our approach thus increases biodiversity in two ways: directly through the added plants and the organisms that use them as resources, and indirectly through the reduction of pesticides, which always destroy a plethora of non-target organisms.

Wild flowers in buffer strips
Specific wildflower species selected for buffer strips.
Companion plants in cabbage field
Specific wildflower species selected as companion plants in cabbage fields.
Parasitic wasp
Companion plants attract parasitic wasps in cabbage fields and provide a food source, which increases the parasitation of pests by parasitoids and reduces the need for pesticides.

Further information

Project leaders:

FiBL project team:

  • Elodie Belz
  • Ivan Juric
  • Guendalina Barloggio
  • Moritz Fürst
  • Alex Fenn

Collaboration partners:

  • Felix Wäckers, Lancaster University, UK
  • Mathias Kölliker, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Walter Salzburger, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Pius Andermatt, Syngenta AG, Switzerland
  • Peter Nagel, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Michael Traugott, University of Innsbruck, Austria


  • Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU) (2007-2015)
  • Ernst Göhner Stiftung (2008-2012)
  • Parrotia-Stiftung (2008-2015)
  • Schöni Swissfresh AG (seit 2011)
  • Singenberg-Stiftung (2010-2013)
  • Spendenstiftung Bank Vontobel (2009-2011)
  • Stiftung zur internationalen Erhaltung der Pflanzenvielfalt (2008-2012)
  • Werner Steiger Stiftung (2009-2012)